ProCarReviews is reader-supported. We may earn commission on sales through our links at no extra cost to you. View policies.

Blocked DPF Problems and Fixes

DPF Problems, Symptoms and Fixes

The Diesel Particulate Filter (DPF) is best described as the “ticking time bomb” in most modern diesels. Similar to EGR problems, the DPF can become clogged up from city driving where the car does not get up to temperature.

The whole reason the Diesel Particulate Filter came along was to clean up the diesel car image (Euro 5 Emissions, 2009). Emissions from diesel cars are a big concern worldwide and thanks to the DPF technology, diesel cars are much cleaner.

DPF’s are great for the environment and so forth, however they are a right pain when they go wrong. DPF regeneration, repairs and new replacements are seriously expensive and can lead to some vehicles becoming scrapped.

How does a DPF Work in Diesel Cars?

The Diesel Particulate Filter traps the harmful diesel gases that gets cleaned regularly by a process called DPF regeneration. The collected diesel soot particles are burnt off at high temperatures, which results in an “ash-like” after product. After the regenerating of the DPF, it can now restart the cycle of collecting harmful exhaust gases again.

There are 3 different types of DPF regeneration, which are active, passive and forced.

Active DPF Regeneration

Active reads the back pressure of the exhaust or soot load of the filter to determine when to begin the regeneration. Once initiated, the timing of the fuel injection will alter that will result in the exhaust temperature increasing to burn the soot particles.

During an active DPF regeneration, you may notice the following:

  • Higher idle RPM/Speed
  • Cooling fan working harder
  • Poor fuel economy
  • Smells from exhaust
  • Engine note change

Passive DPF Regeneration

Passive will take place once the exhaust reaches optimum temperatures where the regeneration will automatically begin. The exhaust will reach these temperatures will occur mostly on prolonged highway driving. Manufacturers that use a passive form of regeneration typically install a oxidizing catalytic converter near the engine to increase the temperature.

Forced DPF Regeneration

Forced is where the Active regeneration could not occur that has resulted in the soot levels reaching 70% and above. The diesel car will enter limp mode and will require a car diagnostic tool to force the regeneration. Its important that this is done as soon as possible because once the car reaches 85% soot level, the DPF will need to be removed and cleaned.

What causes DPF failure?

Sadly DPF’s do fail and many diesel car owners do not realize how they are causing a blocked DPF. The main reason for DPF’s failing is due to car owners not doing enough miles and driving too frequently in city areas.

How long until a DPF will fail is hard to tell because some manufacturers have had to replace some in the first 3 years and some never. The most common reasons for DPF failures are:

  • Short journeys where the engine doesn’t reach optimum operating temperature
  • Clogged EGR Valve increasing diesel soot passed to the DPF
  • Faulty fuel injectors sending too much fuel to the air/fuel mixture
  • Incorrect engine oil upon servicing the car – (Low Ash + Low Sulphur required for DPF Cars)
  • Turbo failing with oil dripping into the DPF
  • High mileage car that will find regeneration harder

increase fuel in your tank when filling up

Symptoms of a Block DPF Filter

As the majority of DPF’s are installed on newer cars, you will more than likely have a trip computer. Error codes such as the DPF light or EML (Engine Management Light) will be the first symptoms of a failing DPF.

However, sometimes these warning lights can be false alarms and you should try clearing the fault using an OBD2 diagnostic tool. If the warning light continue to display, you will notice the following symptoms:

  • Loss of power
  • Reduced fuel economy
  • Poor throttle response
  • Harder or failure to start
  • Limp mode (most likely)
  • Bad smells

How to Clear a Blocked DPF and Keep it Clean

The cost of cleaning or replacing your DPF sounds scary but you can forget this following some simple driving habits. The main reason DPF’s get blocked is due to short trips and town driving. With that in mind, here are 5 ways to fix a blocked DPF:

  1. Drive Faster. If you are driving slowly everywhere in your large diesel, the DPF will become blocked. Increase your speed and plant your foot to floor to when accelerating to increase exhaust temperature and clear soot levels.
  2. Increase Your RPM. If the DPF light is on, your best bet is to drive at high RPM’s for a prolonged period until the warning lights turn off. This will increase the gases going through the DPF, thus clearing it and increasing the temperature.
  3. Avoid City Centers. If possible, you should avoid slow traffic where possible, especially if you are nearing your DPF limit or have the light currently on.
  4. Check EGR Valve. If  you have problems with your EGR valve, it will be even harder to clear the DPF. Fix the EGR issue and then try the other steps.
  5. Use High Quality Fuel. Premium fuels or diesel fuel cleaners include fuel additives that help burn off harmful particles.

If you are currently in limp home mode, driving at high RPM (step 2) will be your best chance of getting out of limp mode. Once you have normal power, go for a long fast drive on high quality fuel. If the issue remains the next day, get your error codes read by a diagnostic tool.

Remove the DPF from the Exhaust System

The DPF delete is an appealing aspect if  you are having issues with your DPF. It is true, without a DPF, you will have no issues and in fact, your performance will increase with a remap or tuning of the ECU.

However, the DPF removal may be illegal is your country and it will cause more environmental damage. Although the latter will not be your biggest concern.

Have You Bought The Wrong Car?

The cost of cleaning or replacing your DPF can be expensive. For the majority of DPF’s, if you are in the region of 70 to 85% it will be eligible to be cleaned. Any higher than 85%, the DPF will need to be replaced with a new system.

Many people bought diesels as it was marketed as the “fuel for saving the planet”. However, they did not bet on having issues such as DPF failure on relatively new cars costing thousands.

It is not the Diesel Particulate Filters fault the majority of the time. Its your driving habits as the car owner and lack of knowledge with modern diesel cars.

If you are driving a few miles each day, your DPF will eventually give up and repair bills will start piling up. A gasoline engine is perfect for short journeys and equally as efficient on fuel.

What Are Your Thoughts?

  1. Hi there,
    Thanks for the rich information,
    But I would like to ask is it possible when the dpf blocked will that affect the automatic transmission shifting?
    Thanks.

  2. Hi Sharief,
    Its very unlikely that a DPF would be causing issues with your automatic transmission but you can’t rule it out. If you know that you have a blocked DPF, you could be in limp mode also. Limp mode is more likely causing the issues with the automatic gearbox changes.

  3. Hi, that made for a very good read. I’ve been asked to inspect a non starting 1.9cdti. I have little knowledge on this particular engine as I’m more of a tdci tech. So my question……

    Can a badly blocked dpf prevent the car from starting? The day before the non start it struggles to fire up and the revs was slow to build until the turbo built some pressure up. Now it won’t even fire using a wiff of easy start.
    I think it’s 1 of 2 possibilities
    1) timing has slipped so no compression although visually the belt is fine with tension
    2) a blocked dpf

    Many thanks

  4. Sounds like a blocked dpf i have the same problem with my mazda the way i managed to trouble shoot it was to duncolt the dpf secticon of exhuast from manifold side the try start the car. If car starts it is more than likely ash accumulation in dpf thats cuasing back preasure on engine preventing it from running.

  5. If DPF full light on can that cause antislip light & engine warning light to come on. This is a Toyota Fortuner

  6. are the dpf systems improved in the 2017 canyons with the 2.8 duramax or are they all the same over the years?

  7. I’ve got a 2009 1.9 Fiat Sedici with 100,000km on the clock. The engine light was on for a long time and I had less acceleration especially uphill. I guessed the problem but even after motorway driving it didn’t clear. The garage indicated a blocked DPF. They tried a forced regeneration which didn’t work so they said it needed replacing at very high cost. After a long drive 60kmph around 1750rpm the light’s gone off and the performance seems to have improved. I suspect it’s cleared itself but the garage are still telling me that I need to replace it and if I don’t the problem will reoccur. They say it has reached a point from which it cannot clear itself but this seems to be contradicted by the improved performance. Is it impossible that it’s cleared itself? Should I go ahead and replace or just wait till the light goes on again and do it then?

  8. I have Mazda 6 Diesel 2010. It has done 125k miles. It gives no trouble to start in the morning BUT after I have driven it for 30-40 minutes (on a motorway) and if I stop somewhere it will not restart for 10-15 minutes. However if I sit patiently for 10-15 minutes it starts again. Is it DPF problem, nothing showing on the dashboard.

  9. Hi
    My dpf light came on so I regend the car, the light turned off,
    The light has now come bak on, so took it to the garage plugged it into the computer showed up no faults, regend the car, once finished the went to reset the light and it won’t go off, w
    But could tell me what to do next.
    Thanks kerry

  10. Hi – useful article. My 2014 Mitsubishi ASX begins missing felt through the steering wheel and pedals only when motorway driving. Could this be a DPF issue? As only just had full service
    Thanks lisa

  11. Hi Lisa – I wouldn’t say this is to do with a DPF Failure. Unless there is a large amount of black smoke coming from the exhaust, it could be a regen but I highly doubt it. I would report back to the person who serviced your car.

  12. I have been using the expensive diesel for a while now in my 2015 1.6 CR-V and have been thinking about going back to ordinary diesel but after reading this I will be sticking with the expensive stuff.

  13. Hello just had to have a forced regeneration on my mazda 6..
    Could someone please tell is it worth doing a forced regeneration say every six months before the fillter has time to block and before the dpf light comes on with a machine I have brought myself just like the one they use at the garage. .
    The machine apparently will do a forced regeneration if required. .
    Many thanks in advance..

  14. I just bought a used Nissan Vanette van and not being farmilia with DPF warning sign I continued to drve without regeneration. Now the check engine sign has come on. I suceeded in doing manual regenaration but both signs have not gone out. What does this mean?

  15. Hi I have a bit of an issue . My Audi a6 4g engine had a dpf that got blocked as it had not regenerated in some time . I also have a p0104 code related to the air flow sensor which I replaced with a genuine new part . Got the dpf fully cleaned and also inspected . Checked egr with vcds system and all is good . Also replaced the pressure sensor . However the car will not force regen and the p0104 fault never goes away . Car is not in limp mode . All seems good but is not . Any thoughts as to why this is happening and to why it will not regenerated. Audi cannot find the problem after 3 weeks in the garage .

  16. Hi
    I have a Jeep Grand Cherokee 2011. I have issues with dpf filter but am reluctant to replace as I hear so many still don’t solve problem.
    I wonder if using cruise control can be a factor in dpf problems as I have been a great user of this.
    Mechanic cannot locate any other problems..car well serviced.

    Thoughts?

  17. Hi I’m just wondering does the light always come on when the DPF is blocked all the symptoms match what’s happening with my Nissan qashqai 09 but no light is coming on and have had it plugged in and nothing is coming up

  18. Just Had my DPF Filter Cleaned,drove away and the ” Engine Requires Service” light has come on for about 20 seconds then goes out,Why?

  19. Hi Jim,

    I would advise that you take it out for a spin whilst keeping the revs up higher than usual. If after a long drive it is still comming up, go back to the garage and ask them to plug it in to a diagnostic. Sometimes you will need to remove the code that is stored on the system.

  20. Hi, i have a Citroen c4 grand Picasso 2007, semi-automatic 6 gear with paddle shift, 2 weeks ago i have a warning on my dashboard saying : ” Particle filter might be blocked “, i went to service and they checked it and they said is ok, doesn’t need regeneration or changed, i changes my filters, oil, fluid additive and yes i drive my car in city most of the time below 40 mph, i did some research and this might be the cause, sometime when i go high revs the warning still comes on and goes off after a couple of sec or 1 min, i have no other warning, every button from the car works, every light. Also when i accelerate sometime i feel a bit loss of power and the car is like going forward and backwards if i dont give more gas, the car is a bit old but have no problems beside thid, also when i drive it when going from 1st gear to 2 gear i hear sometime when it’s shifting, no warnings no nothing, spoken with some services and they said as long as i dont have a failure or a warning its common on Citroen, i would like more opinions please, thank you!

  21. I just replace the particulate filter and sensors as Chevy said that was the problem. Guess what it’s still saying the filter is clogged and the computer is still putting the engine in low power mode. 2011 Silverado. Any ideas?

  22. Hi,i would like to know what is the step to remap the E.C.U for dpf fault!
    The engine model is a : KDY121 toyota
    Thanks in adavance for your reply

  23. My Qashqai 1.5 DCI just had a new dpf a new turbo and egr valve replaced. Warranty will pay for the turbo and the valve but won’t pay for the dpf.
    The is second hand with 43000 miles and I bought 6 months. I have a bill for £1850 for labour and dpf. Be careful if you buy a diesel car. Don’t trust warranty.
    I am sorry just having a moment.

  24. Hi, I have got a seat on finance 11month ago. Within the first 6 weeks the Dpf filter light came on, this continued for a few weeks. I took it to the garage who said the Dpf light was faulty and not a problem with the actual filter it’s self. Last week my car broke down, the garage said he oil has leaked out everywhere and the tubro needs replacing along with the dpf filter. The car is now out of warrenty, however I am indisbutes with the garage as I believe the fault was there when I brought it to the garage after 6 weeks of purchasing the car.

    Can a problem with the Dpf filter cause the blockage, for oil to spill out and need a new turbo? Or is it likely to be something different?

    Thanks.

  25. Hi I have a Citroen grand picasso 2011 I had an error message showing the service light and saying that particle filter additive too low repair needed I did ropes up the additive but stillvits showing the message. How can I remove it.

  26. I have 2008 Toyota coaster…it does Not finish Re gen ..even doing with mechanic computer..it fails….and Engine light comes on..alredy cleaned DPF..change sensors n EGR also replace brake exhurst valve
    …it seems DPF doesn’t go that hot ..to Regen

  27. Hello
    I have a 2011 grand cherokee on finance. I had an inspection done on the vehicle after i had some problems with it and they found what they believed to be a problem with the DPF.
    We had a forced regen done which resulted in the car driving perfectly for 1 week and then went back into limp mode with the same code coming up.
    Finance company have agreed to replace the DPF…. is there any other part that could be a factor? Or that I would need to replace at the same time to increase chance of permanent fix?
    The car doesn’t start any more (sounds like it’s choking) and I am afraid if they fix the DPF it could have something else wrong as a result.
    Any advice would be greatly appreciated

  28. Hi, so if i have brought a car, the EML came on within 12 hiurs as they had obviously just turned the EML light off, the fault it is coming up with is the dpf filter blockage.
    The garage said they have put some adictives to help clear the engine and filter out and to go for a driver keeping the car over 2k revs, which i have done, i went on a 50mile trip up a duel carrigeway with no traffic keeping at 50 in forth gear to keep the revs a bit higher than usual but the EML light has stayed on even after the drive which i was told should clean it out,
    What do i do from here? Take it back and tell them the filter needs to be replaced and get into a debate with them or ask for the money back and stay clear of the car?

  29. Hi friends
    I have Toyota coaster 2008.When I do DPF Regen,it fails n engine light cimes on i have clean DPF 3 times also mechanic change EGR ,Exhaust brake,change all injectors n sensors. it cost me damp 9k already…
    Do u guys thing I did change DPF

  30. Hello
    Replaced blocked DPF filter on 07 Navara reset error codes car went well for the 1st day but then light come back on and went back into limp mode. Could this be the sensors ont the DPF or something else.
    Regards
    Troy

  31. Hi I’ve had my ford smax zetec 2lt diesel for 10 day on finance it was back at the garage after 3 days they said they’ve changed the filter and sensors and he said he’s bin driving it all weekend no problems great so I thought so it drove back great last night no problems I get up this morning at 6 take my husband to work and on the way home I get engine malfunction and I lose all power I know nothing about cars but I know this shouldn’t be happening I’ve only got 2 more weeks of warranty left so I need some advise of what to tell the garage when I take it back I’ve got myself into debt for a car that doesn’t work properly the last time he plugged his computer in he said it was a boost issue I’m thinking it’s the turbo and they’re hoping it runs out of warrenty before they have to pay for a new one to be honest

  32. Hey friends ,
    I own a Isuzu elf truck and the dpf light ie limp mode came across, cleared it but afterwards it was back . The car had its ‘maflas’ the catalyst removed some years back..Would i clean it even still without the ‘maflas?

  33. Hi,
    Great article, as I just had my oil changed at a dealership and no sooner than i reached the highway, my BMW x5 went into limp mode. The dealer is saying the its the DEF, and the oil change had nothing to do with it. The DEF light never came on and a bellow of white smoke came out of the tailpipe and at that point I stopped driving. I wonder if they used non recommended oil to do the oil change? Any suggestions?

    Thanks

  34. Hi
    I have a 2008 Pajero, I have had, the inlet manifolds cleans, the egr valve cleaned, the dpf cleaned, yet the dpf light, comes on 6 to 7 days after, the codes are cleared, Mitsubishi are saying, the 3 heat sensors, and the exhaust and absolute sensors, are all reading in range, any ideas?

    thanks

  35. Hi I’ve got.com a vw golf 1.9tdi its going into limp mode just when motorway driving on high speed otherwise its going perfectly I drive on the motorway almost daily the dpf was diagnosed after i have allready regenerated the turbo because it was getting seized after getting off the motorway it wouldnt pull, two days was going good after car goes into limp mode if I am driving it on high speed can the dpf cause limp mode because of the high rpm?? Because what i see is recommended its to go faster im going but the car after 10minutes wont.

  36. Kdh206 hiace
    I am helpless and frustrated with maintaining.
    Firstly difficult to get parts and even if I get it is very expensive. What can I do to solve dpf problem? It is really a nightmare. I thought Toyota delivers good car but they do manufactur car to give sleepless night for customers as well🇯🇵🇯🇵🇯🇵

  37. Ok so what worked for me.

    My car (peugeot 208) has been getting DPF warnings since i got it 2 years ago. Around 6 months ago i got the dpf warning again followed by limp mode (i couldnt get out of it). Took it to a garage and 2 days and releived of £300 quid i was back on the road. This didnt last long though as i started getting the warning again. Last night my car displayed the message again and went to limp mode.

    I thought sod this im not paying a garage that money again so decided to try and do it myself.

    I bought a little device called the HH obd2 advanced. Someone was selling it on gumtree for 10. I think brand new they are only about 20.

    Anyway i plugged this into the car and using the app that goes with it i was able to find the fault code and then turn the safe mode off by clearing the codes.

    I then placed some wyns dpf cleaner in the deisel tank and took my car on a local A road for a spin.

    Now as it hadnt started burning off the soot yet, the car went quickly into limp mode again. But i proceeded to floor it and it very slowly managed to get enough power and momentum to get up to about 50 MPH. I stayed at this speed for about 10 mins before turning round and heading home, doing the same thing. I could smell the DPF cleaner doing its thing.

    When i got home i plugged the machine in again, reset the code and went into the house. Half an hour later i took it back out and the fault light stayed off so it had worked to a point. I then did about a 20 minute journey in 4th gear at around 60mph (which was about 3000 revs) just to make sure i could burn off as much soot there as possible. Voila! No expensive trip to a garage….who would have probably just done the same thing anyway.

  38. Our 2008 VW Toureag has done 76000 miles. Recently two warning lights came up on the dashboard – a flashing coil and an engine management malfunction light. We noticed a loss of power but when we pulled over and turned off the engine and then re-started it the lights had gone off and the car was functioning normally. The lights came on again at irregular intervals. We took the car to VW who said they would check the engine over. We heard from them that the DPF was broken and needed replacing. We had the work done costing us £2000. About a week later on a long journey the lights came on again. I have spoken to VW who said it is now, probably, the turbo that is causing the problem. We are concerned that they mis-diagnosed the fault with the DPF but they are insisting that it need changing as it was crumbling. We would appreciate any help with this issue.

  39. That seems a lot of money to chuck at a 10 year old car! I would definitely be asking Volkswagen at how they didn’t spot any issues with the turbo. They would have done some sort of testing whilst it was at the £2,000 repair!

  40. Hello.
    I would like to thank you for providing these valuable information.

    I have a 4 year old VW1.6 tdi and since a year or so I’ve been facing issues with slower pick up, reduced mileage and strange foul smells from the exhausts at idle.
    A VCDS scan did not show any faults but I checked my DPF and it shows last regen : 85000 km. ( which is the kilometers I’ve driven since the day one when i purchased the car.
    So does this mean my DPF has never ever Regenerated even once?
    Kindly advise.

  41. Hey Ajay, these TDI engines are prone to DPF problems but this to me sound like another fault. These TDI’s are also prone to EGR valve failure too but I doubt its this otherwise you would be in limp mode with the engine management light on too. With the cold weather, you may want to check your injectors as these may give you foul smells and reduce performance.

  42. Hi folks,

    I have a Renault megane 1.9DCI
    I’ve had an engine management light that came on just before Christmas last year. My brother in law changed DPF sensor and the light went off for a few weeks. When the light came back on I put the car into Renault to get a full inspection/health check. In the report they said that the intercooler had some air leaks and that this would need to be replaced in order to carry out a DPF Regen . My brother in law (being an Audi technician) changed the intercooler for me ( this was back in March) and since then the light has been off, only until recently the “Engine failure hazard” light came back on about a month ago. For me it seems that the new intercooler was the fix , but now having these same problems again, the car is lagging a bit in power, but it’s not in limp mode. Does this sound like the DPF is choked? I can’t see any black smoke or anything. I’m putting the car into get some new discs and pads fitted next week so I will also ask the garage to check out my management light and help me get the problem fixed. Any thoughts or opinions on this would be welcome 🙂

  43. That is a serious amount of work gone into a Renault Megane! Maybe it is trying to tell you something and that you should get rid. Any air leaks will cause havoc and being a turbo car, the turbo isn’t getting as much air coming through, so this means less power. Have you tried long journeys at high revs? Were there any differences after this?

  44. Hi Dan,

    Thanks for the quick reply, I’ve tried that before with high revs and a longer distance journey (approx. 100 miles round)
    This has worked in the past and the light has went off, I’d just like to know how do you know if the DPF is clogged? I’m certain that my Renault report with the full health check said that the DPF was blocked, however since getting the intercooler changed the light was off for approx. 6 months. Now it’s back on! would this suggest that any regen is not working at the moment?

  45. Hi all need some kind of miracle I have a Peugeot 3008 2010 plate and recently had a dpf anti pollution light come On but went straight off it did this a few times and was told to refill the dpf adaptive which was done still the same
    Problem my garage has changed the dpf sensor and done a forced regen and I still have the problem but sometimes doesn’t come on for a few days then if I drive above 75 mph the light comes on again which is driving myself and my garage nuts anyone have any ideas please please oh yeh and protruding please lol
    Thanks in advance
    Deano

  46. HI, I have just had to take my Nissan Qashqai to the garage as it was losing power only to be told the filters are badly blocked, they have been flushed but they are so badly clogged it is going to cost between £1000-£1500 to fix. I have only had the car 6 months and have been told this job isn’t covered under the warranty.

  47. Mercedes c250 cdi. I had started to notice my engine not reaching temperature 80 degrees max. Car was going into limp mode once in a while now its permanently stuck in limp mode. Codes are pointing to maf sensor, egr insufficient flow and soot constant in dpf. Is now reading 262% on my reader. Question is has the fact my engine not reaching temperature been the fault?
    Strangely the exhaust flow increases with revs and the car drives in limp mode with better fuel economy than ever but I am concerned with what is the cause

  48. I’ve found that when my DPF is getting clogged that the car will begin to judder at 1500rpm if I’m not accelerating. This is happening at least every month now so looking into the delete😏

  49. Hey Charlotte, would be cautious when deleting the DPF. Depending where you are in the world US or UK, it may not pass the inspection/MOT. If it is a continuing problem, I would honestly determine whether the car is worth repairing (i.e. is it worth spending the money on it or not). Most of the time, DPF issues are caused through low speed, small and short journeys, do you fall into any of those categories? If so, I would strongly recommend getting a petrol car myself!

  50. Jeep Grand Cherokee EcoDiesel, still under manufacturer’s warranty. Engine light is on and error code indicates clogged DPF. Dealer can’t look at it until next week, so I’d like to try to clear it myself by taking a 2 hour drive. You mentioned driving at a high RPM. What MPH and/or RPM do you suggest?

  51. I have a 2012 Kenworth ixx 15 450 horse it used to run the road now I bought it I run this city with it I probably go 6 miles loaded incident report for 30 minutes to an hour each time in six miles back empty a regen light stays on when I try to manually do it the other day took 3 hours still did not go off starting to run a little rough is there any way possible I can bypass this whole setup somebody told me that I can take the DPF filter out and wash it by hot pressure water Bryant backwards the same way it’s coming in and we’ll really get it clean thank you look forward to comments

  52. Hi, I have a BMW 320D, it’s slow on pick up and does virtually nothing if you flaw it. Turbo is showing no fault codes. It is class that the DPF has been tampered with, cleaned or contents removed.. could this be a cause of loss of power.

  53. Hi, I have a scoda octavia and today the dreaded DPF light came on. So I jumped on the interweb and found this article. I then jumped into the car and drove the dung out of it and as if by magic the light disappeared. Great article, Thanks.

  54. Started with P2453 and P2463 messages on the OBD, which required an engine service.
    Garage then check the DPF Sensor, replaced the DPF, DPF pipes and the EGR. After that they performed a few regens and still the car shows error messages (P2463) without limp mode.
    However, the messages show every day and I drive 100 KM a day on the motorway mainly. Car is a Volvo C30 2.0d and I cannot go on like this.

  55. Hey Barry – This seems like you are having an absolute nightmare! As mentioned, you are driving on the motorway mainly, so you shouldn’t be suffered from a DPF fault as such. Out of curiosity, did the garage reset the DPF code for you? This may require a specialist OBD2 scanner that they may or may not have. The cars ECU may think it is still clogged up otherwise!

  56. Hi ! I have a Hyundai Grand Starex CRDI VGT turbo euro 6 diesel engine van, DPF was cleaned, NOX sensors and DPM sensor was replaced. After a few days however, DPF light came on especially in the morning. It turns on occasionally but without any limp mode. Van was driven a lot of times on the motorway at high speed 80 mph to 90 mph max. I already spent a ton of money. What should I do ?

  57. This sound like you are having a terrible time! Out of curiosity, have you plugged it into a diagnostic tool to see if there is anything else going on? Was the DPF light turned off via the diagnostic tool once cleaned?

  58. Hi
    I have a fiat doblo 1 3 jtd, 2008, 45k
    The fault code light keeps reappearing .I have a fault code scanner and despite being turned off with a OBD2 scanner plugged in code 2453 reappears

    Car drives ok and light stays off for a couple of days and 20 mile test journeys all seems ok
    Just been out for a 25 mile run at steady speed all seemed well ,called at a local shop and after switching back on engine failure message appears temporarily and then amber warning light stays on

  59. Just a note on a problem that I had. DPF went into limp mode took to dealer and they did a forced regen.
    Happened a couple of times, so I went to a guy who did a full check on the the DPF but he could not find much wrong with the car.
    But he did say that my thermostat was not getting up to temperature and it was running at 66 degrees instead of 88.
    This car is a 60 plate Avensis 2 liter turbo. Will let you know outcome once thermostat replaced.

  60. Hi, I have a 07 Seat 170bhp and I’ve just had a new back trap sensor fitted and had a forced regen which cleared the fault for about 30 miles and now the filter light is back on. Does this mean I need a new DPF or is there some way of taking it off to clean it so I can carry on driving it like normal? I’ve only had the car for 3 weeks so I don’t know what it’s history is at all? Many thanks in advance.

  61. Hey Steve – the 170 engine found in most VW’s, Skoda’s, Audi’s and Seats are notorious for DPF faults. Compared to the 105 BHP and 140 BHP engines, the 170 is more designed for spirited driving and if it doesn’t get this, it suffer from countless DPF faults. I strongly recommend going for a spirited drive before spending anymore money. By “Spirited”, I mean flooring it a lot in first, second and third gear. You could also drive on the motorway at high speed in say 4th gear thus keeping the rev range around 3,000 RPM, which will help clear thing out. Hope this helps.

  62. Hi Dan
    What a great blog! I’m relatively new to diesels and particulate filters having bought my first diesel, a 63 plate 1.6 TDCi C-Max, less than a year ago. When arriving home one day last week I was alarmed to hear (what I now know to be) a DPF regen running as I turned off the engine. (I also now know that it isn’t good practice to turn off the ignition while this is running). My question though isn’t about the regen itself but, random though it sounds, about cruise control. Is it coincidence that since the regen I am unable to set cruise control and it is no longer working? A friend seems to think that there could be a connection.
    Keep up the good work, and thanks again for such a helpful blog.
    Alan

  63. Hey Adam – Thanks we do try! With regards to the cruise control, your friend would be correct. Some cars will not allow the cruise control to activate with a blocked DPF or when in limp mode. Is the car running fine?

  64. Thanks for your reply, Dan. I took the car for half an hour’s dual carriageway and motorway driving the day after the regen and, other than the cruise control problem, all seems fine. Reading previous posts here though makes me think that maybe I didn’t get the revs quite high enough to finish the job, so I’ll try again over the weekend using a lower gear if necessary, to generate more heat.

  65. Can anyone help with my 2006 Rav 4 T180 DPF problem? Trying to clear the P2002 code but no luck. DPF, DPS, MAF and cat are all fine according to my garage. DPS gives false readings (tried a new sensor but same results). No white smoke or bad driving, just the dreaded limp mode.

    Nobody knows what is the issue. We DO know that a forced DPF regen was impossible as the highest temp reached was 350/400 degrees. Anyone know why its not getting hot enough to regen?

    5th injector? Clogged inlet manifold? Or possible in need of an ecu reflash/update?

  66. I have a 2 an half year old (2016 model with AdBlue) Vauxhall Insignia and the DPF light has never been on but the engine management light has been on for a couple of months. I do motorway driving everyday so can’t work out why the DPF lights never come on.

  67. Hey Karl – Have you checked out the EGR or even the glow plugs? If you are on the motorway each day and allowing the car to reach optimum temperature, I would doubt it’s the DPF. Best option would be to connect a diagnostic tool in and see what is causing the engine management light.

  68. My fuel consumption rocketed and then the DPF warning light came on. Any link there? It’s off now, and I’ll add some additive to get me home and get it looked at!

  69. Hi Dan,
    Had major problems with my Hyundai i800 last year resulting in a new engine, turbo, head gasket.

    Less than 12 months laster my car broke down in exact same circumstances.
    Garage have advised that turbo has failed agin (which is covered under warranty) but also DPF & EGR need replaced – cost of £2400.

    No warning lights came on my dash last year nor this time.
    Help! garage saying current problems unrelated to turbo

  70. Hi Tracey – Sorry to hear about your troubles. Personally, I would fix the car and get rid of it. It is obviously one of those cars that will give you nothing but trouble. Luckily the turbo is being replaced under warranty but this may be the cause of the DPF and EGR failure. If the turbo wasn’t working in the first place, it will more than likely be in limp mode/not being able to produce much boost. Eventually this will clog up the DPF/EGR, which I believe has happened here. Personally I would replace the turbo and then try to clear the DPF with a long, spirited drive or alternatively have the car doing 60-70 MPH in third gear for a long period of time.

  71. Hi Dan, interesting reading, l have a 2011 250 CDI Mercedes which had these issues, I took the car to the mechanic that had recently done the 100k service, left the car with him, he said he had to sent it to the auto electrician who replaced the wiring to the diff, cost me $888.00. Got the car back and 4 weeks later, the same problem happened again. Back to the mechanic not happy this time, he said he had to send it to the auto electrician again, the report came back that he was going to change another part that would cost $560.00, however, he also made a comment that the engine light could come on again in 2 months and if it does the car would require a DPF which would be expensive. Well I wasn’t happy and told him he had no idea what he was doing. I picked the car up and took it to a Mercedes Benz mechanic who immediately informed me the the car required the DPF cleaned and why on earth did the other mechanic replace the wiring to the diff! Would you have an answer to why they would replace the wiring to the diff? If they did a band aid patch up I intend to get my money back and name and shame this mechanic.

  72. Hello Dan, Thank you for all the useful information. I would like to ask about my Kia Sportage 2.0 Diesel of 2016 with 60,000 miles. The DPF indication keeps flashing and also the engine indication has gone on. This is done even after we took out the DPF and senT it for cleaning. They said it was 35% blocked before cleaning. We have also tried adding a fuel additive for cleaning and done the regeneration procedure through a diagnostic tool. Now the mechanic mentioned that maybe the sensors connected to the DPF must be replaced. Can you please advise?

  73. Hi Dan,
    I have a MK6 VW golf 2.0 and have been having DPF issues for the last 8-10 weeks, the first case I didn’t know what the problem was and it went into limp mode so I got towed to a garage and they regenerated it by driving on a dual carriage way for 20 mins. Since then the DPF light has come on every week since and I have been able to regenerate it on the dual carriage way. I have had the car into 3 garages and they have plugged it in and found no issues with it and has them stumped. The pressure seems to be fine and The EGR valves seems to be fine also. The last few weeks it has taken 420 miles between each regeneration and the DPF light coming back on, this is on a weekly basis as I need the car for work and do that miles. The miles and journeys I do vary with mainly on country roads with a mix of dual carriage way also. I have stopped using supermarket fuel see if it help but doesn’t seem to have worked. The last time it came on the 500 miles I had previously done 300-350 of those where motorway miles. Any ideas? Thanks

  74. Hey Jak – Sorry to hear about your troubles. If you are doing that sort of motorway miles, it is unusual for the light to keep appearing. Unless you are travelling at low RPM in 5th/6th gear, it shouldn’t be causing any DPF issues. It may be a silly question but did the garages reset the DPF after regeneration on a diagnostic tool at all? Sometimes the issue can be as simple as that. Let me know how it goes! Thanks, Dan

  75. Hi Dan,
    I have a 2011 Citroen C4 automatic. I only drive it to and from work, which is 150km every day, 140 of which are on the highway going 100-130km/hr). My DPF was just replaced about 20k km ago (my car had 170k km at the time, so I guess that’s bound to happen), but now at around 190k km, the light is going off again. I’m not sure why, since it was really recently replaced, and I pretty much only drive on the highway. Is there a possible reason for this? Thanks in advance.

  76. Hi Dan, very interesting reading on here. I Have a Vauxhall Antara 2,2 CDTI 4WD its a 12 plate 50,000 miles.

    I Do about 150 /200 motorway miles at 80 mph plus weekly and few weeks ago the EML came on and I had a diagnostic scan done that said airflow sensor fault (covered by warranty). So I took it to a designated workshop who said the turbo intercooler pipe was causing this as it was split and needs replacing (not covered on warranty).

    They did this and on my journey home, not 5 miles further billowing smoke limp mode and all lights on dash chiming away.It Broke down completely. I had it towed back to workshop and told the DPF was now blocked due to prior build up and o2 sensor now faulty as well. They maintain that could not have foreseen this. Should they not have checked the DPF knowing that the new turbo pipe would increase the pressure and leave me now with no car and facing a 2K plus bill. PS The car was driving fine before and up to the breakdown. Would Appreciate your thoughts on this

    Regards Tony

  77. DPF light constantly on and off on my ex VW TDI and hard to start, despite:

    – constantly driving long distances at high speed as my family lived 150km away so I’d drive to visit them nearly every weekend
    – using fuel additives to clean DPF
    – having regular car services with filters changed

    I sold the car and haven’t looked back, what a money pit! Never again!

  78. I have a VW Toureag 08. I had problems with losing power when EML was showing. Took to VW garage who told me probably DPF problem. They said they would remove DPF to check it and then told me it was broken and had to be replaced costing £2500. I had no choice but to get the work done. Few days after collecting it I had the same problems and warning lights. Took it back and they said it now probably needed new Turbo. I took the car to another garage who replaced the EGR valve and solved the problem. My question is why didn’t the DPF fault light come on if it had been broken. Please advice.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *